In Photography News

This past Spring I worked on a big photography project. I had to keep it secret, such is the nature of working on a book.

Yes, you heard me right. A book.

Not my book, but a book that I am beyond honored to be a part of. The very talented knitter Betty Salpekar has developed a completely new method of constructing socks … from the ground up.

Solefull Socks by Betty Salpekar

Holding it in my hands was surreal.

These socks are completely amazing. You begin with the sole and then work your way up. This has the benefit of being able to reinforce the entire sole and therefore lengthen the life of your sock.

Canyone Walls from Solefull Socks

Canyon Walls, see how the sole is different?

And the way the construction comes together creates socks that look radically different than your typical sock. Stitches go directions you don’t expect creating effects you would have never thought you can get.

Colorwork Argyle socks from Solefull Socks

Look at how the pattern moves!

It was a challenge to do these socks justice, but also fun to try and come up with new and creative ways of shooting 18 pairs of socks. Working to try and help fulfill someone else’s vision was a fascinating experience and pushed me to approach things in different ways.

Purl Trellis from Solefull Socks

There is something about this one I adore.

But I wanted to keep the feel of my photographic style in there also, assuming that is why Betty chose me in the first place. There are so many pictures from this book that I want to share with you, but it would be overwhelming. The book is available for pre-order on Amazon. And if you want to keep up to date with what is going on there is a Solefull Socks website.

If you will forgive me one more photo; frankly, I have a hard time believing it is real.

Solefull Socks, hand knit sock book

Humbled to be in such company.